.

Second Ethics Complaint Filed Against New Board of Ed Member

Probable cause hearing on outstanding complaint tabled again.

The Board of Ethics met briefly Monday morning to consider an additional complaint filed against newly elected Board of Education member Greg Beck for a comment made on Facebook shortly after the election.

The complaint — filed by resident Nancy Lincoln — cites a comment from Beck on a post about performing 26 acts of kindness in the 26 days leading up to the anniversary of the Dec. 14, 2012 shooting at neighboring Sandy Hook Elementary. Beck stated that he would buy boxes of ammunition for his gun enthusiast friends.

The comment was taken down, however calls for Beck's resignation continue, including another ethics complaint considered earlier this month.

Both complaints ask for Beck's resignation from the Board of Education and note that he made the comment while on duty as an emergency dispatcher, employed by the town.

The complaints will be rolled into a single hearing, scheduled for 10:30 a.m. on Jan. 9.

The Board of Ethics was also set to determine probable cause on another complaint carried over from the Dec. 20 meeting, however one of the board members, Jim Sullivan, could not attend Monday. The issue was tabled again for a meeting date to be determined.
John Castigo December 30, 2013 at 08:54 PM
When Free Speech is punished, you can rest assured there will be retaliation. When Free Speech is punished, the cause and effect machine rumbles to life. Remember that you started this.
Nancy Beam Lincoln December 30, 2013 at 10:00 PM
Freedom of speech is just that freedom - no punishment no retaliation - it's as simple as that.
Nancy Beam Lincoln December 30, 2013 at 10:07 PM
I'm disgusted by Mr Becks posts and it's my right to say so...
sherri keefe December 31, 2013 at 04:53 PM
Hmm.. who started this? If the comment wasn't made we wouldn't be in this predicament. And if "retaliation" is made as you say I guess we will know where to look anonymous. If your going to make threats like that man up and use your real name.
Rob Gianazza December 31, 2013 at 06:21 PM
And if wasn't put on the Patch, the whole community wouldn't have to deal with all the hurt that it caused. So ask yourself, which was done in a lapse in judgement and which was intentionally done to cause hurt and pain?
Glenn Brown December 31, 2013 at 07:00 PM
Perhaps neither action was done with malicious intent? Could it be possible both sides of this mess were lapses in judgement, or at a minimum done out of anger and without forethought? What about Chris D'elia's post about Bill Davidson stealing signs? Would you categorize that as a lapse in judgement, or with intent to cause hurt and pain? And since this original post is about ethics, what about Mr. Tinsley's failure to disclose his court hearings? A lapse, or intent to mislead? Does every motive need to be polarized?
John Castigo January 01, 2014 at 01:05 PM
So it seems some of the commenters in Brookfield wish to take on the cliched role of victim and feigned offense. I do not understand this "controversy". Bullets did not commit Sandy Hook, Adam Lanza did and now he is dead and rightly so. However, such a sentiment does not garner public sympathy and the whole "We are Newtown" meme.
Diogenes January 02, 2014 at 06:29 AM
Anon- This is not a freedom of speech issue. It is about the judgement and sensitivity we expect from our elected officials. It is also about hipocracy: Mr. Beck is a tea-bagger who wants to present himself as a steward of taxpayer money, but was caught playing on social media while on the clock and collecting a paycheck from those he claims to be interested in protecting.
BobCat January 02, 2014 at 07:38 AM
What Beck said was stupid, insensitive, idiotic....add adjectives as you see fit. And personally I think he should resign. But unethical? I think not. This is waste of the Ethics Board's time.
Michael Gianfranceschi January 02, 2014 at 02:32 PM
hey diogenes, you do realize that calling someone a tea-bagger is the same as calling someone gay or the N-word to disparage them, don't you???? makes you no better then those you are talking about,... does it
Emanon Emanon January 02, 2014 at 03:02 PM
Nope, @Mike. "Gay" and the "N-word" have historical connotations of hate. They are words that have been used for generations to disparage a portion of the population who are physically or psychologically different from the perceived "norm." And for the record, there are times when calling someone "gay" is completely appropriate, when it is used to express a fact. The N word is never acceptable, except when it has been re-appropriated by the society that it had demeaned for centuries (ie. rap music, and that remains controversial.) Calling someone a tea bagger has no historical weight behind it. It's simply an insulting word aimed at at a portion of the population who have aligned themselves with a political movement that to many seems like nothing more than a fearful reaction to a changing world. It's insulting and immature, but you don't get to compare it to the "n-word" or "gay." As a wise person once said, if you're trying to determine whether one word is worse than the other, and you can't say one of those words, that word is worse.
Michael Gianfranceschi January 02, 2014 at 04:34 PM
nope, diogenes, gay has not been used for generations to disparage a portion of the population, it has only been relatively recently used in that way. and i did say using the word in a disparaging way. Tea-bagger is not just an insulting word, it is insulting a person by aligning them with a sexual act. there is noothing simple about it. It is just another attempt by progressive/liberals to marginalize people who have an opinion that is different than theirs. i do get to compare the words because my daughter who is bi-racial says when she hears the word"nigger" she is only half offended, but if someone called her a tea-bagger she would be totally offended.
Michael Gianfranceschi January 02, 2014 at 04:37 PM
sorry comment should have benn addressed to EE
Emanon Emanon January 02, 2014 at 04:51 PM
Well barring the well established fact that your daughter is an authority on racism in America, if you want to compare the n-word to the insult "tea bagger" it's a free country and you're welcome to be as racist as you want to be. Let your ignorance flag fly, Gianfranceschi!
Diogenes January 02, 2014 at 05:51 PM
100% sympatico with the E-man. I'll even own immature... Any attempt to morally equate "tea bagger" with the other terms you mention just underscores the intellectual bancruptcy of the people that would be described by the term "tea bagger". One other difference that EE failed to mention is that people are "tea baggers" by choice not by birth. There is a cure for it: education. No not the kind you get from Rush; the real kind. That brings us back to the issue at hand- Mr. Beck. BTW, MG I don't know what sex act you speak of; but I do know that a few years ago people chose to throw tea bags around in a lame attempt to draw a parallel between themselves and our earliest anti-colonialist revolutionary forefathers.
Becky Carvell January 02, 2014 at 06:00 PM
I do find "tea bagger" to be really inappropriate and insulting. If you don't know the sexual connotation, then please look it up.
Michael Gianfranceschi January 02, 2014 at 08:25 PM
EE, you're calling me ignorant?, praytell what is your first hand knowledge of racism? I would venture guess zero. Have any white people come up to you and said, among othe things, why on earth would you adopt a black child?, have any black people come up to you and said, among other things, why on earth would you adopt a black child?. and you have the nerve to call me racist? like i mentioned before liberals/progressives/elitists expect everyone to walk in lockstep with them and anyone who has a differing opinion is demonized as either a racist, homophobic or ignorant. You can take your elitist flag and fly it where the sun don't shine....... Diogenes, you need to start being honest with yourself or find a new user name. Is the real education the kind you get from Ed schultz or rachel maddow? You know there was this guy in the 30's who thought people should be educated in a certain way and people should all think the same way..... his name was Hitler.....think about it
Diogenes January 03, 2014 at 07:13 AM
@MG- Real Education takes place in schools and universities and through world travel and by asking questions. It opens minds and inspires independent, analytical, and critical thinking. It creates people that understand that True Ignorance is found in those that think they know everything they need to. Real Education creates shades of grey that tea party radicals are uncomfortable with and incapable of processing. It discourages black and white thinking like: "anyone that believes in gun control is against the second ammendment"; "all words that are insulting are morally equivalent"; and "anyone that doesn't agree with me is evil, like Hitler." Given Mr. Beck's demonstrated lack of judgement and critical thought I do not believe that he can improve our schools ability to provide Real Education. In his original statement he demonstrated his poor judgement and insensitivity. In his stubborness not to resign he continues to demonstrate his True Ignorance. The only people that continue to support his presence on the BOE have their own political agendas, gave birth to him, or are, themselves, ignorant fools too. To be clear - the last group includes those that feel he should stay because they feel sorry for him. I feel sorry for him too. I would like to believe that he is the victim of some very bad advice from people that are looking out for their own political agendas (Rob Gianaza, et. al.). Otherwise he is ignorant enough to warrant some empathy. Regardless of my pity though, or that of people that know him personally and think he is a "great guy", he needs to resign for the good of Brookfield.
Rob Gianazza January 03, 2014 at 07:53 AM
Wow, there's a whole lot of hate in those words. Also a significant opinion of oneself being superior to everyone else. I will say that you are entitled to your opinion, I can also assure you that you are wrong on so many of your points. You make certain assumptions based upon the fact that you think that your opinion is the only one that counts. This is a trait common to the liberal thinker. People who follow the Tea Party are rational, conservative thinking people that are concerned that government has grown too big and is no longer serving the people it was created to represent. In fact, it is you that draws the black and white conclusions with the way you presented your position. It also appears that you are drinking the same Kool-Aid as Victor Katz, assuming that I am influencing Greg Beck. Again, in typical fashion, your argument is filled with innuendo and no hard cold facts. Fact is, I have not spoken to Greg Beck since before he took office. I have not thrown him under the proverbial bus as many other have. My only encouragement is to trust his own judgement. And I have the conviction in my words to sign my real name, I do not hide behind a pseudo-name, ashamed to accept responsibility for my comments. Something else Greg Beck has that you don't.
John Mainhart January 03, 2014 at 08:33 AM
I am again appealing for a respite in this conversation. Many good points have been made but need to be said to the person intended after you know the person better. In the meantime let us all respect freedom of speech that is not intended for the patch even if it is intended for the Patch. God love you all.
Diogenes January 03, 2014 at 07:24 PM
@RG- No Hate. Frustration... lots; some disgust; some pitty; but mostly hope. Luckily we live in an amazing country where, for most, ignorance remains a choice. I believe that until creationism is taught as "scientific theory" in all public schools, there will always be hope. If there were no hope why continue writing... I would only be casting pearls before swine.
Michael Gianfranceschi January 03, 2014 at 09:33 PM
Wow, don't think too highly of yourself, do you? Typical progressive, "i know what's best so keep still, be seen and not heard". But personally i think you're scared. why else would you label those with different opinions or ideologies? Instead of a civil discourse you call these people radicals, ignorant, racist, and uneducated. You're scared you won't be able to walk around with your nose in the air and still consider yourself one of the Elites. It's time to grow up and show some of the tolerance progressives are supposed to be famous for. But personally i think that's a load of BS.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »