.

Poll: Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays?

What do you say during the holiday season?

It's a debate that seems to come up every year around this time: should people use the greeting "Merry Christmas" or something more generic such as "Happy Holidays" or "Season's Greetings"?

The latter has become popular, with the variety of religious holidays taking place this time of year, but those who say there is a "War on Christmas" have rallied in recent years, saying insisting on "Happy Holidays" is too politically correct.

Which do you prefer? Vote in our poll or leave a comment below.

Janis Hardy December 14, 2011 at 04:12 PM
AMEN!
mike murphy December 14, 2011 at 04:28 PM
I say Merry Christmas or Happy Holydays to my hebrew friends, it is also Hanakuh. the 4th of July is a holiday, Christmas is a Holyday unless you own a store then it is Xmas. When a store puts Xmas on a sign so it can fit another 2 or3 items on the sign, I usually pass by
Simcha Gralla December 14, 2011 at 04:49 PM
As a Jewish Brookfielder (we really don't like being referred to as Hebrews, Mike), my approach is to say "Merry Christmas" to people I know are Christian and "Happy Holidays" to those I'm not sure of. I'll usually only say "Happy Chanukah" to fellow Jews during the eight days of Chanukah, not before it. I don't get offended (any more, though I did in my youth) when someone says "Merry Christmas" to me, and respond to it differently depending on who does the wishing.
Rocky Vitale December 14, 2011 at 05:24 PM
Xmas actually is very appropriate as the X comes from the Greek letter Chi which, in their spelling, was an X in certain Greek words, including the word meant Christ. Yeah, I looked it up, I'm not that smart. Merry Christmas to all and enjoy your various holidays no matter what your beliefs!!!!!
Wbyguy December 14, 2011 at 05:37 PM
It really depends on the situation. If I know someone is Christian, I will say Merry Christmas. Then again, I feel as though Happy Holidays encompasses the whole season as in my mind it includes all faiths and the New Year. Frankly, the manufactured hysteria by the right wing over people saying Happy Holidays is just as repugnant as people getting offended by hearing Merry Christmas. At the end of the day it is a polite nicety. Take it for what it is. Happy Holidays to all!
Meg L Short December 14, 2011 at 05:46 PM
I say Merry Christmas - Christmas happens even if someone doesn't celebrate it, so I still wish them a happy one. So Merry Christmas to you all!
Bambi December 14, 2011 at 06:26 PM
@TANGELENE: How about RESPECT for our OWN opinions?
Bernard December 14, 2011 at 06:30 PM
Someone mentioned Festivus and I think more of us should greet anyone we meet with a hearty Happy Festivus. Now to kick our this Festivus season, I would like to begin the Airing of Grievances. Too many people on this site should stop their moaning and temper tantrums and grow up! OK, next.
Rob Gianazza December 14, 2011 at 07:09 PM
Simcha, is it disrespectful or inappropriate to wish someone Happy Chanukah when it is not one of the eight days? Since my intention is to show respect and holiday cheer, I would prefer to be informed when it is and isn't appropriate, than to offend my Jewish friends. Thanks!
Simcha Gralla December 14, 2011 at 07:15 PM
Rob, it's not disrespectful. It's just that Chanukah really isn't that big a holiday on the scale of Jewish holidays, so wishing it in advance would be sort of like wishing someone a happy St. Patrick's Day on March 10.
Tangelene Ramsay December 14, 2011 at 07:18 PM
Bambi, I respect your opinion, but you come across as angry. Swearing and yelling is not a constructive way to express your opinion.
Tangelene Ramsay December 14, 2011 at 07:20 PM
G, you are correct. There are two solstices, winter and summer. They each have their own names and festivities as well. I am simply sticking to the one that occurs on the first day of winter since the topic at hand is holiday greetings. :-)
Bernard December 14, 2011 at 07:39 PM
@ Bambi - We have likely been saying Merry Christmas for a few hundred years. Since the world is more than a million years old I'm thinking this greeting is just a fad. As for the solstice and pushing aside pagan observances, I say playfully "In your face Wiccans." Hopefully payback isn't what they say it is.
Bambi December 14, 2011 at 07:56 PM
K,first off, u didn't give birth to me! Don't need to talk to me like ur my mother. Thank you! I will express my opinion mad,sad,angry,happy! Doesn't matter! It's just an opinion. What do u care if I'm angry? Funny cuz I wasn't even angry. Just because is said HELL and had exclamations does not mean I'm angry!
Teri December 15, 2011 at 01:14 AM
I am a Catholic who is the executive administrator of an Orthodox synagogue. I am often wished Happy Chanukah instead of Merry Christmas and it's all good to me because they just assume I am Jewish because if my knowledge of the culture and terminology. Those who know me well enough to wish me a Merry Christmas are returning the respect I show them throughout the year and I very much appreciate it. I do take offense when someone calls a Christmas Tree a "holiday tree" just for the sake of being PC as there is no other holiday that uses a tree with a star on top in that way to symbolize a holiday just as I would someone referring the Menorah as holiday candles.
David Propper December 15, 2011 at 03:33 AM
I believe that the good wishes coming from the heart are much more important the particular words that are chosen.
Glenn Connan December 15, 2011 at 04:39 AM
Merry Christmas!
Steven DeVaux December 15, 2011 at 12:43 PM
Amen Rob.
citizen December 15, 2011 at 01:20 PM
I agree David! i think the world has more important things to worry about. Merry Christmas! and/or enjoy whatever holiday you like!
MIchael Macchio December 15, 2011 at 01:29 PM
Merry Christmas, because it is Jesus birth that we are celebrating, as the saying goes, He is the reason for the season.
MIchael Macchio December 15, 2011 at 01:49 PM
Twas the month before Christmas When all through our land, Not a Christian was praying Nor taking a stand. See the PC Police had taken away The reason for Christmas - no one could say. The children were told by their schools not to sing About Shepherds and Wise Men and Angels and things. It might hurt people's feelings, the teachers would say December 25th is just a ' Holiday'. Yet the shoppers were ready with cash, checks and credit Pushing folks down to the floor just to get it! CDs from Madonna, an X BOX, an I-Pod Something was changing, something quite odd! Retailers promoted Ramadan and Kwanzaa In hopes to sell books by Franken & Fonda. As Targets were hanging their trees upside down At Lowe's the word Christmas - was no where to be found. At K-Mart and Staples and Penny's and Sears You won't hear the word Christmas; it won't touch your ears. Inclusive, sensitive, Di-ver-si-ty
MIchael Macchio December 15, 2011 at 01:49 PM
Are words that were used to intimidate me. Now Daschle, Now Darden, Now Sharpton, Wolf Blitzen On Boxer, on Rather, on Kerry, on Clinton! At the top of the Senate, there arose such a clatter To eliminate Jesus, in all public matter. And we spoke not a word, as they took away our faith Forbidden to speak of salvation and grace The true Gift of Christmas was exchanged and discarded The reason for the season, stopped before it started. So as you celebrate 'Winter Break' under your 'Dream Tree' Sipping your Starbucks, listen to me. Choose your words carefully, choose what you say Shout MERRY CHRISTMAS, not Happy Holiday! Please, all Christians join together and wish everyone you meet MERRY CHRISTMAS Christ is The Reason' for the Christ-mas Season!
Robert Posca December 15, 2011 at 02:07 PM
Honestly, I don't care what is said to me. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, what ever. The problem I have is that when you say merry christmas to someone and if they practice some other holiday saying. I get the look as if HOW DARE YOU wish me a merry christmas!. Look, I'm not a mind reader if you practice something different so be it. If Some people get easily offended by a simple gesture then maybe this country isn't right for you and your family. Just my opinion. One other note when this holiday became so commercialized its has since lost its meaning of what chistmas is really about.
Bernard December 15, 2011 at 03:00 PM
If folks want to keep Jesus front and center at Christmas, be a Christ-like. Stop the whining, blaming and finger-pointing about who doesn't say this or there no longer being a government monopoly on holiday observance and publicly demonstrate the meaning of the season. If this is a time of joy and hope for Christians- then show it with action rather than reaction.
MIchael Macchio December 15, 2011 at 03:16 PM
By the way, the poll questions (like many poll questions are skewed) by presenting the - descriptions: Merry Christmas — It's tradition Happy Holidays — It's more inclusive Neither — I prefer "Bah, humbug" Basically, if you answer anything but Happy Holidays its implied you are not inclusive. I would vote for Merry Christmas but not simply because it is tradition.
Eve Sturdevant December 15, 2011 at 06:12 PM
I say "Happy Holidays". When I wish someone happy holidays I feel I am including all beliefs as I do not want to offend anyone. If someone is not religious or chooses not to celebrate a December holiday, it includes New Year's. Just my preference. :)
LarryLinn December 18, 2011 at 04:53 AM
Have a Happy Hanukkah.
Pgmr9 December 18, 2011 at 01:52 PM
Merry Christmas ENOUGH of this PC Crap
JWolf December 18, 2011 at 10:43 PM
BRAVO - Someone who actually knows the history of the Feast of Yule. Jesus was born according to where the Shepards supposidly were and the time when the census that put them in bethlehem was being held sometime in May truthfully,
Letterman December 20, 2011 at 12:35 PM
So we only acknowledge every other holiday on the actual date, but for some reason christians started saying merry Christmas before it was Christmas. When did this "tradition" start and why? I know it was only in the last 100 years.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »